Saturday, July 22, 2017
Home  >  Features  >  ARCHIE VS. PREDATOR #1 - A MightyVille Advance Review

ARCHIE VS. PREDATOR #1

 

4.5

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics Writer: Alex de Campi Penciller: Fernando Ruiz Inker: Rich Koslowski Colorist: Jason Millet 

It's always an interesting task to crossover Archie, America's longest running PG high school sitcom, with an R-Rated property.  You have to bring Archie's sensibilities up just enough to make them PG-13 without going too far and also pull down a property like Predator from it's R-rated action and violence so that they can both meet somewhere in the middle.  And somehow, Alex de Campi and the rest of the creative team here, really nail all parts in this first issue.


ARCHIE VS. PREDATOR #1

 

The book is quintessential Archie.  The team from Riverdale is trying to decide where to take their spring break vacation, when they luck into an opportunity that will take them away from their regular mundane choices, and, as luck would have it, allow them to shove it in the faces of their counterparts from the rich private school.  From there everything is as normal - the group goes through lots of contests, some for the yearbook, some for personal bests, some against entire plates of waffles, basically everything you knew about Archie.  Like I said earlier, it does go a little more mature than most Archie stories, there's a much more overt sexuality at play here and the Betty/Veronica fight leads to much torn clothes and blood, but not too much.  The line has been moved but clearly not too much.  

The Predator portions likewise nail all the tropes of a classic Predator story.  He arrives and moves silently in the background.  He allows things to just take place without causing too much trouble.  He eliminates the least cared about characters first (and in this instance, off panel as to maintain the PG-13 veneer). They even throw in early cameos, that act as great fan service to Predator fans.  And even best of all, Predator isn't diminished at all by the more Archie-style artwork.  This book, if nothing else, proves that bloody skeletons can look scary no matter who is drawing them in whatever style they want.

 

ARCHIE VS. PREDATOR #1

 

This book is a great start to the series and will appeal to fans of Archie, Predator, and even Archie haters who want to see the gang dismembered.  It's just a seriously fun read.

 

More Reviews on MightyVille:

Number One Bullet Reviews: February 18, 2015

Number One Bullet Reviews: February 11, 2015

Number One Bullet Reviews: February 4, 2015

 

Comments (0)
Only registered users can write comments!
 

MightyVille Spotlight

 ImageFor MightyVille's newest Writer Spotlight, we talked to Sweet Lullaby writer and creator, A.J. Scherkenbach!

Mighty Poll

What will be the ULTIMATE Superhero Movie of 2017?

JUSTICE LEAGUE - 37.5%
THOR: RAGNAROK - 12.5%
THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE - 12.5%
LOGAN - 25%
POWER RANGERS - 0%
GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY VOLUME 2 - 0%
WONDER WOMAN - 12.5%
SPIDER-MAN: HOMECOMING - 0%
The voting for this poll has ended

Be Our Friend

Mighty Tweets

Mightyville Joe Kach talks to Darick Robertson, co-creator of TRANSMETROPOLITAN and THE BOYS, in our most revealing interview... https://t.co/Tfal9OcXyF
16hreplyretweetfavorite
Mightyville Looks like THE WATCHMEN are coming to HBO! https://t.co/Y1OGokWgjr
Mightyville Reginald Hudlin to direct the SHADOWMAN movie. https://t.co/tEVuLWh7v4

The Geek Speak Show

Comic Shop Locator

Main Menu

(C) 2016 MightyVille Enterprises. All rights reserved.